Écrit par l'équipe P-Val

World of Cooperation
The Stellantis-Amazon partnership: a win-win agreement?

June 2022

 

Stellantis unveiled in January the outline of a global agreement (or sum of agreements) with digital giant Amazon. This is a new kind of cooperation in which incumbent automakers seem compelled to partner with GAFA to accelerate their technological transformation. It is interesting to analyze the key factors of this cooperation.

 

If we put ourselves in the boots of Stellantis, the fundamental driver for this cooperation is the achievement of an ambitious goal: “to become a Tech Company”.

Stellantis faced two scenarios.

The first scenario was to continue alone. Stellantis decided that this scenario would not be viable to pursue its strategy.

To “become a Tech Company”, Stellantis chose the second scenario instead. The company opted for a cooperative partnership with Amazon. However, by making this choice, there is still a significant risk that the real tech company will remain Amazon because it has the skills and the means to invest.

It is important to understand that Stellantis has chosen to cooperate in order to respond to an ambitious strategic imperative. “Becoming a Tech Company” is the most ambitious objective of the car manufacturer, it is the objective that directly addresses its “raison d’être”.

For Amazon, on the other hand, it seems that the deal doesn’t have the same scope. The web giant does not need Stellantis to satisfy its raison d’être.

However, we can see that there is cooperation here “despite” the brakes because the objective is major, at least for one of the players.

 

Balanced or win-win?

 

Carlos Tavares says that the partnership is win-win; this is certainly true. The economic equation – electric cars versus digital cockpit and cloud hosting – is undoubtedly a win-win for both parties. This confirms that a cooperation is necessarily a win-win partnership, where each player considers that the gain of the cooperation is greater than its cost.

On the other hand, saying that the relationship is balanced seems to be more of a communication effect. On the one hand, we have Stellantis, for whom cooperation is vital, and on the other, Amazon, for whom it is a commodity. If we take the image of the bacon omelette, Stellantis is the pig and Amazon is the chicken.

These agreements engage (and value) the great chefs but it is in the detail of their realization that the real performance lies.

This is by no means a done deal: the two worlds are bound to clash and it is not certain that they will manage to find a common world of cooperation.

The challenge is to create bridges between teams that are very different in terms of culture, skills, recognition, etc. In short, two very different worlds.

In the long run, cooperation will be a lasting success if it succeeds in creating a common World that encompasses the teams of both entities by offering a common cultural envelope that allows disagreements to be resolved in a fluid manner. To lay the groundwork for the Desired World of Cooperation for and by Stellantis, here are the four headings to be specified:

 

GREATNESS

That of a tech company: this needs to be explained because the slogan is widely used. It covers ideas of speed, agility, ability to code better than others, response to customer needs even if it means anticipating them

 

RECOGNITION

This is an issue for the people of Stellantis: they take the risk of leaving the existing recognition to jump into an adventure, even if it means not staying once their skills are acquired and evolving towards “real tech companies” that are more capable of developing and paying them.

 

INTERACTIONS

Those of the Agile Mode, and more likely those of the Amazon partner, which can be analyzed as an archetype (see our archetypes by P-Val) of an industrial world focused on the customer.

 

DECISION

This is undoubtedly the most complex part of the process, in order to avoid a pile-up of “needs” and an “impossible” cockpit. We need to build a robust governance system capable of making quick decisions, despite a two-headed leadership. 

 

Finally, Carlos Tavares rightly emphasizes the power issue of mastering the customer relationship.

He considers that the car owner will remain loyal to his car brand, which is true in the short term. Amazon probably considers that in the medium term, the driver will want an “Amazon smart cockpit” and that he will first live a digital customer experience before living the one provided by 4 wheels and an electric engine (cf. the Intel inside switches or the choice of Apple or Android smartphone OS).

To sum up, strategic cooperation agreements, such as JVs and mergers, only work in the long term if the objective is ambitious and goes beyond what each party could have done alone, if the *benefit-cost* calculation is positive, and finally if the operational players manage to think and act within the same common World.

This is our commitment in all our cooperation missions.

 

 

Want to know more ? Contact us

 

 

 

21 Avenue de l’Opéra,
75001 Paris – France

Écrit par l'équipe P-Val

Monde de Coopération
Le partenariat Stellantis-Amazon : un accord gagnant-gagnant ?

Juin 2022

Stellantis a dévoilé en janvier les grandes lignes d’un accord global (ou somme d’accords) avec le géant du numérique Amazon. Il s’agit d’une coopération d’un nouvel ordre dans laquelle les constructeurs automobiles historiques semblent contraints de s’associer avec les GAFA pour accélérer leur transformation technologique. Il est intéressant d’analyser les facteurs clés de cette coopération.

 

Si l’on se met dans les bottes de Stellantis, le moteur fondamental à cette coopération est l’atteinte d’un objectif ambitieux : « devenir une Tech Company »

Stellantis faisait face à 2 scénarios.

Le premier scénario consistait à continuer seul. Mis de côté, Stellantis a tranché que celui-ci ne serait pas viable pour poursuivre sa stratégie.

Pour « devenir une Tech Company », Stellantis a plutôt retenu le deuxième scénario. L’entreprise a fait le pari d’un partenariat de coopération avec Amazon. Toutefois, en faisant ce choix, subsiste le risque important que la vraie tech company reste Amazon car c’est elle qui détient les compétences et les moyens d’investir.

Il faut comprendre ici que Stellantis a fait le choix de la coopération pour répondre à un impératif stratégique ambitieux. « Devenir une Tech Company » est l’objectif le plus ambitieux du constructeur automobile, c’est l’objectif qui adresse directement sa « raison d’être ».

En revanche, pour Amazon, il semble que le deal n’a pas la même ampleur. Le géant du web n’a pas besoin de Stellantis pour satisfaire sa raison d’être.

Toutefois, on constate qu’il y a ici coopération « malgré » les freins parce que l’objectif est majeur, au moins pour l’un des acteurs.

Equilibré ou Gagnant-gagnant ?

Carlos Tavares dit que le partenariat est gagnant-gagnant ; c’est sûrement vrai. L’équation économique – Voitures électriques contre Cockpit digital et hébergement cloud – est sans doute gagnant pour chaque partie. Cela confirme qu’une coopération est nécessairement un partenariat gagnant-gagnant, où chaque acteur considère que le gain de la coopération est supérieur à son coût.
En revanche, dire que la relation est équilibrée semble davantage un effet de communication. Nous avons d’une part Stellantis pour qui la coopération est vitale et d’autre part, Amazon pour qui elle est marchande. Si nous prenons l’image de l’omelette au lard, Stellantis est le cochon et Amazon, la poule.

Ces accords engagent (et valorisent) les grands chefs mais c’est dans le détail de leur réalisation que se situe la performance réelle.

Cela n’est pas du tout une affaire gagnée : le choc des deux Mondes est assuré et il n’est pas certain qu’ils parviennent à trouver un Monde commun de coopération.

L’enjeu est effectivement de parvenir à créer des Passerelles entre des équipes très différentes en termes de culture, de compétence, de reconnaissance, …Bref deux Mondes très différents.
A terme, la coopération sera un succès durable si elle parvient à créer un Monde commun qui englobe les équipes des deux entités en proposant une enveloppe culturelle commune qui permet de régler les désaccords de manière fluide. Pour poser les bases du Monde Voulu de Coopération pour et par Stellantis, voici les quatre rubriques à préciser :

GRANDEUR
Celle d’une tech company : ce qui demande à être explicité car le slogan est très utilisé. Il recouvre des idées de vitesse, d’agilité, de capacité à coder mieux que les autres, de réponse aux besoins clients quitte à les anticiper

RECONNAISSANCE
C’est un enjeu pour les personnes de Stellantis : elles prennent le risque de quitter la reconnaissance existante pour sauter dans une aventure, quitte à ne pas rester une fois leurs compétences acquises et évoluer vers de « vraies tech companies » davantage capables de les développer et de les rémunérer.

INTERACTIONS
Celles du Mode agile, et plus surement celles du partenaire Amazon que l’on peut analyser comme un archétype (cf nos archétypes by P-Val) d’un Monde industriel focalisé sur le client.

DECISION
C’est sans doute la partie la plus complexe pour éviter un empilement des « besoins » et un cockpit « impossible ». Il faut construire une gouvernance robuste capable de décider vite, malgré un leadership bicéphale.

 

Enfin Carlos Tavares, avec justesse, met l’accent sur l’enjeu de pouvoir que constitue la maitrise de la relation client.

Il considère que le propriétaire de la voiture restera fidèle à sa marque de voiture, ce qui est vrai à court terme. Amazon considère sans doute qu’à moyen terme le conducteur voudra un « smart cockpit Amazon » et qu’il vivra d’abord une expérience client digitale avant de vivre celle procurée par les 4 roues et un moteur électrique (cf. les basculements Intel inside ou les choix d’OS de smartphone Apple ou Android).

En synthèse retenons que les accords de coopération stratégiques, comme les JV et les Fusions ne fonctionnent durablement que si l’objectif est ambitieux pour dépasser ce que chacun aurait pu faire seul, que le calcul *bénéfices – coûts* est positif et enfin que les acteurs opérationnels parviennent à penser et agir dans un même Monde commun.

C’est notre engagement dans toutes nos missions de coopération.

Laurent Dugas

 

Envie d’en savoir plus ? Contactez-nous !

 

 

 

21 Avenue de l’Opéra,
75001 Paris – France